Interview with Tereza Eliasz-Solomon, Her Upcoming Book Heiress Mommy and Other Issues.


Teréza Eliasz-Solomon

Tereza first honored me by following me on Twitter.  I’ve enjoyed getting to know her and wanted the opportunity to get her story out there.  I look forward to posting more interviews with Tereza as time goes on.  Tereza sees herself as a feminist blogger, who passionately cares about a variety of topics – politics, religion, health, art, fashion and just about every eclectic subject in the world. Her family and friends are important center pieces of her life and she feels blessed to have so many Faceboook, Twitter and blog followers!

Teréza’s Blog (URL):

HeiressMommy™ – http://heiressmommy.wordpress.com/

Facebook –  https://www.facebook.com/tereza.eliasz

Twitter –  https://twitter.com/HeiressMommy

  1.  Why Heiress Mommy ™?  Where does that title come from and what sparked it?

After both my parents died in the late 1980’s and then my first husband, at nearly 21 years of marriage died in 2000, I inherited money and property. At one time, much was made of that and so I decided to “own” it – literally my second husband I trademarked/copyrighted that term. As for the Mommy part – that is to honor the glory and blessing of becoming pregnant with twins [my eggs] in my 50’s …hence Heiress Mommy ™!

  1. Being Jewish, were you raised in a very religious household?

We were NOT Orthodox – although my paternal grandparents were. We were however schooled in Judaism and observed all the holidays and rituals. Definitely a household informed by Jewish thought and laws.

  1. How do you think Judaism and Feminism coexist?

We Jews are the original women liberators – there have been laws to protect women throughout Jewish history [divorce, etc.]. Jewish women have been in charge of the home and then were among first females to enter all professional realms.

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jewish_feminism

Jewish feminism to some might seem an oxymoron – but that is only for those ignorant of REAL Jewish life. There is admittedly ancient references to women being less than men but that is a misunderstanding because equal are the ancient Jewish writings elevating women above men.

  1. Which particular prejudice are you concerned about?

ALL prejudice – of every kind diminishes man & women kind. One may have opinions that denote likes and dislikes – preferences of certain lifestyles but prejudice in action denies others right to even exist. There is no more dangerous attitude on the planet!!!

  1. Would you please elaborate on what you see as the devaluing of female accomplishments and what you think needs to be done to rectify it?

As my very feminist oriented husband, who legally took my last name/has our children named that as well [January 2012] is deeply concerned about, the present GOP/right wing extremist attempts to marginalize and control women’s health care option and choices is a road to devaluing all women – a form of enslavement for sure. The so called Tea Party wants no assistance to working mothers, yet gives faux praise to those well off enough to be stay at home moms.  Should not choice in all arenas – health care, pregnancy, work options be the purview of each individual woman – no matter race, religion or economic status?  The proverbial “slippery slope” is in front of America women – the slide toward those not such good old days of Mad Men TV style womanhood – where men decided what we wore, who with and when we had sex, children or careers and even if we could have a credit card even with our own incomes.  Ironically, this great nation professes concern for women in other countries  being tortured and subjugated on account of religious extremist but are hell bent on we U.S.A. women being denied rights hard fought for and won years ago.

  1. Is there something you see as a major issue of dehumanizing and devaluing of others?

Oh my, definitely – for reasons I am unable to discuss here fully due to ongoing litigation against certain miscreants and my book contractual obligations, I can only say that no one should be made to silence their voice on account of others lie filled or misconceived ideas. Too often we allow the roaring lesser types [what my husband tells me are called “internet trolls” in the IT world] to define those of us true to our ideals. Those of us willing to admit both the good and the bad of our own life but still speaking to those things that define glory and happiness must never be silenced!

  1. Where did you grow up?

    

 

I happily grew up in Philadelphia – I LOVE that city and took full advantage of its historical place in this nation’s founding. I am a mini PR gal for CenterCity and Society Hill Philadelphia – it is in my DNA & I will always maintain at least one residence there!

  1. Who are your parents and how would you describe them?

 

My parents were Abraham & Mary – father Jewish, mother from Albanian Muslim background who converted to Judaism, becoming a strong proud American Zionist. My parents met at a Temple University Christmas party – such a unique story/truly American considering their ethnic origins. They were the most amazing couple – I probably will write a book just about them after 2013 memoir is finished.

  1. What kind of work did they do?

My parents were business people – many types of companies and ventures. Proud to say my father unionized his own companies. Additionally, along with many other charities and participation in social causes, my father was a early on civil rights activist – joining the NAACP & marching with Dr. King on D.C. . I have a proud legacy to live up to!

  1. What did you want to be growing up?

Everything – we children of my parents joked that our middle names should have been eclectic … all disciplines were explored [science, art, law, sports, et al.].  I went on to be multiple degreed and still want to be EVERYTHING when I grow up!

  1. Is there something you would like to add that I missed?

Yes my dear supportive friend Michael – my concern in this complicated world is that voices like mine, yours, my dear husband, etc. will be silenced and outnumbered by the hateful vitriol of those professing theirs to be “normal”, etc. . With the recent loss of feminist writers like Nora Ephron [that I blogged about: Losing Nora Ephron] and even Helen Gurley Brown this past week, I am hopeful that new feminist writers like myself and the British Caitlin Moran – with the support of feminist husbands like mine – can protect and defend women and subsequently our children from being denied our voice.

I am grateful that men like you and others I am blessed to have in my life exist – it is not a world without male input I desire but one where we are ALL feminist in unity toward a greater good. Thank you – looking forward to a get together in person soon Michael Charton!

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment