Will You Start My Greek Journey with a Trip to the Metropolitan Musuem?


Metropolitan Museum of Art

Image by suburbanslice via Flickr

Esmerelda thought over what the man at the desk was saying.  Did he want her to go to Greece with him?  He continued in his soft Southern Drawl.

“Ever since I came to New York City, I’ve loved visiting the museums of the city.”

Esmerelda could finally control her voice and not automatically say the right things.  “I enjoy going to the Metropolitan Museum nearby.”

“Isn’t it a wonderful museum?”  He said softly.

“Yes, it is, Esmerelda said dreamily.”

“I apologize, I have not even told you my name.  I am Charles Pinckney.”

Esmerelda shyly held out her hand.  “Esmerelda Rodriguez,” she said in her quiet Puerto Rican accent.

“Pleased to meet you, Ma’am.”

“You don’t have to call me Ma’am, makes me sound old.  Esmerelda will be fine.”  He took her hand gently.  Charles could feel her soft hand and manicured nails.  Esmerelda could feel his gentle touch.

“Esmerelda, would you like to start my Greek journey at the Metropolitan on Saturday?”

Esmerelda stopped short.  She was accustomed to catcalls in East Harlem, but not potential clients asking her out.  “He was obviously well above the men, well boys in the neighborhood.

Esmerelda’s response was involuntary again, but the one she desired to give anyway.  “I’d be honored.”

“Where do you live?”

“At 110th Street and Lexington Avenue in East Harlem.”  She didn’t want this gentleman meeting her at her East Harlem tenement.  “I will meet you on the front steps of the Museum, what time would you like to meet me.”

“A gentleman picks a lady up.  I will be in a taxi, and that is how we will go to the Metropolitan.”

They made some more small talk and finally he said, “I am looking forward to Saturday.”

“As am I.”

They exchanged phone numbers and Saturday came.  Charles Pinckney at his word, came in a taxi and took her to the Metropolitan Museum, where they could admire the Greek and other art together.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Tuesday Tales and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Will You Start My Greek Journey with a Trip to the Metropolitan Musuem?

  1. Jean says:

    Love the gentleman picks up a lady, Mike. Sweet story. Looking forward to reading about their time together in the museum. Nice story!

  2. Nice writing- great story!!

  3. caseamajor says:

    Sweet and to the point. Esmerelda has a very demure way about her. Can’t wait for Sat (next Tue.)

  4. I enjoyed this very much. Looking forward to next week.

  5. This is so sweet! It’s nice to see a real gentleman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

