The Trip to the University of Arizona Library


I had research to do, so I was headed to the University of Arizona Library, but first, morning coffee in the complex.  I was the only guy there as my other half is in California.

They complained about the usual stuff, the service in the complex.  No news, there.

I headed out to the bus and bought a soda in Walgreens.  The sun poked its way through and I had to take my University of Arizona sweatshirt off.  It was warm in the sun, cold in the shade.  A few feet in either direction would vary the weather pattern.

I was dressed in my trademark red suspenders, a good shirt, good jeans and cowboy boots.  You know, I need to dress up more often, the looks I got from the ladies and cowboy boots seem to make you walk with confidence.

I had to go to my library branch, the Wilmot Library to pick up an Inter Library loan book from Arizona State about the Alps for help with my Otzi murder mystery.

Got on an empty number 3 bus to head to 6th and Campbell to head to the University Library.  My blood sugar was dropping, so I crossed the street and tried Rosati’s.  It’s Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza.

I headed on, getting more looks from the ladies in cars, oh, I’m enjoying this.  Until I reached the University.  Then, I was in place with my U of A sweatshirt, but out of place with my cowboy boots.  Now, I feel old.  As my friend Kesha would lovingly say, “You ARE old!”  Thanks Kesha, I can depend on you to keep me from getting a swelled head. 🙂

I was working on two things.  Research for the Otzi book and a futuristic, leaning toward the Rise of China.

I would’ve liked the automated stacks in the library, meant to be space savers, if they worked properly.  The men’s rooms were real pits.  Not many catalogs, because everyone has laptops.

I’m accustomed to being on campus during the Tucson Festival of Books, when the campus mall is jammed.  Not today.  The clouds came back dark and it was drizzling.  Glad I had the sweatshirt and the hoodie.

It was a useful afternoon doing research.  Walked to the Marriott University where my company Christmas party was being held.

I held myself back and watched everyone, for that’s what writers do.  I realized at the age of fifty-five (took me long enough, I can be a bit slow), I’m basically a loner.

My partner in crime Anastase and his wife Daphrose drove me home.  Long day.  Weekend isn’t over yet, off to Barnes and Noble and critique group.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Silly Look at The World, Arizona, My Week on the Bus, Tucson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

