Saturday February 18th, 2012 My Saturday on the Bus.


I was headed out to a long day. I had time to walk from my regular bus stop in front of my apartment complex to the corner of Camino Seco and Broadway.  I got some walking in, there is a bench there and I could read my book by mystery writer Jeffrey Cohen about the owner of a Jersey Shore comedy theater, who also solves mysteries.  The book is called It Happened One Knife.  Clever huh?

Well anyway, there I am, reading and minding my own, when suddenly there is a woman in front of me.  “I see you like to read young man.”  (When you are fifty-five years old, being addressed as young man, is already flattering lol).  She handed it to me, it was Awake, the publication of the Jehovahs Witnesses.

You have to understand, I grew up in the Brooklyn Heights section of Brooklyn, New York.  The northern part of the neighborhood is the worldwide headquarters for the Jehovah Witnesses.

My bus was coming.  I held on to the magazine and boarded the bus.  The driver showed me the white pail Sun Tran drivers use for trash.  “I saw what happened, and was happy there was no argument.”  “I was just trying to keep the peace,” I responded.

The young lady across the aisle from me studying her Math was giggling, she looked like a high school kid.  A guy in a Pittsburgh Steelers cap, boarded the bus and was joking about Tucson needing snow.  He was actually quite conversant about a number of topics, travel Thai food etc.

She slowed the bus up at the church near Craycroft because they have a yard sale on Saturdays, so everyone on the bus can look and we hate it when people trip over the barrier to the sidewalk running to the street.  Our driver told a story about taking her kids to see snow and getting stuck in Readington Pass.  I teased her saying, at least there was no Apache attack.  I carefully scanned the bus, just making sure.  That would’ve been embarrassing if someone came up to me and said, “I heard your comments, I am an Apache.   Now THAT would be a story.  Got off at Alvernon and headed up to Fifth Street to see the Vampires for my blood work.  Will write a separate piece about the Sisters and Crime meeting and visit from the Arizona Rangers.

Brooklyn Heights architecture

Image via Wikipedia

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Arizona, My Week on the Bus, Tucson and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

