A Mayoral Affair.


Cream cheese on a bagel.

Image via Wikipedia

This is from the detective story I am working on, A Night at the Opera.  The Mayor had a relationship with the deceased Diva and the story has his Page Six of the New York Post.  (Not for real, I don’t want the New York Post to panic). 🙂

Mayor Joseph Blumenthal was at the table in Gracie Mansion, the home for New York’s Mayors, drinking coffee and eating his bagel and lox.  His bagel was overflowing with cream cheese.

He didn’t hear his wife Sarah come in.  He only knew something was up when the open page of the New York Post appeared in front of his eyes, dropped on his plate.  The opposite page fell on the cream cheese and lox sticking out of the hole in the bagel, getting fish oil and cream cheese on it helped when a fist smashed the newspaper, ruining breakfast for Hizzoner.

“How was the opera?”  She asked dripping sarcasm, not honey.

“You know it wasn’t good, the Diva died.”

“Yeah, your Diva.”

“Shame isn’t it?”

“Only cause ya got caught, Mister High and Mighty.  Deny it, if you can.  You think you can act like that French guy Dominique Strauss-Kahn?  The only thing cultured about you is yogurt in your gut.  Give it a rest, you grew up with me in Canarsie!”

Sarah’s Brooklyn accent became more pronounced with each angry word.

“I considered Ms. Ivanova a friend.”

“I’ll be you did.  What was it?  The sultry Slavic accent?  The novelty?”

“I’ll deny everything.”

“Even if you weren’t fuckin’ her perception’s everything.  As far as the city’s concerened, you did it!  You humiliated me!  OK smartass, now for the million dollar question.  Did you have her killed?  Did you know this story was coming down the pike?”

“The answer to both your questions, is an emphatic NO!”

“Well, I don’t believe ya and I’m goin’ out.  Goodbye!

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Naughty Romance Writers, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mayoral Affair.

Leave a Reply

