Sisters in Crime Tucson Meeting, March 17th, 2012


Mission San Xavier del Bac, Tucson Arizona

Mission San Xavier del Bac, Tucson Arizona (Photo credit: UGArdener)

And a Happy St. Patricks Day to all!  The Second Sisters in Crime Tucson meeting was held at the Viscount Suites Hotel and Broadway and Arcadia in Tucson.

Our friend, Helen Strand, a retired California attorney who lives near us picked us up and drove us to the meeting.

Helen carries a box as a gag that says, “Check your weapons at the door.”  It has all sorts of toy weapons.

The morning speaker was someone some of us in Tucson have heard before.  His name is Howard Allen, and he now owns a movie company called Coyote Moon.

Because he’s a screen writer, he has a favorite phrase, “Explaining is evil.”  My friend Alica on the other hand calls herself a description whore.  She was also playing waitress with asking everyone what they wanted for lunch.

People really do have shorter attention spans.  As Howard said, watch a movie from the 1940’s and you will understand.  The story has to tell itself and the action has to come faster.

He used as an example the movie Silence of the Lambs.  I’ve seen the movie, (you probably realize it’s not for the faint of heart),

The point in him showing clips was so we could see how the Jodie Foster and Anthony Hopkins characters interact.  She is trying to get stuff out of him, he is trying to pick her apart.

The afternoon was our friend, Helen Strand speaking about what really happens in a trial.  If you want major courtroom drama, go back to the 1940’s and Perry Mason, when you could have surprise witnesses coming in at the last minute.

A good meeting, waiting for April’s.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Sisters in Crime and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

