Trayvon Martin Case and George Zimmerman, Only One Walked Away.


Re-enactment of the Gunfight at the O.K. Corra...

Re-enactment of the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral, Tombstone, Arizona (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t need to rehash the news.  I just want people to think.  Some already have George Zimmerman tried and convicted.  We are a little ahead of ourselves.

The Sanford Florida Police.  They have had problems in the past (as have many police forces).  I can see why they haven’t charged him.  There isn’t a lot of evidence.  Still, the history of the Sanford Police makes anything they do suspect.

Is George Zimmerman a hothead with a sense of self-importance?  It would seem so.  He seems to have done some good things in that community possibly preventing some crimes.  You may think he’s over the top, but you can’t send him to jail for that.

Florida’s Stand Your Ground Law:  If you are killed as Trayvon Martin and the returned Iraq soldier in another community was, your odds are 100%.  Having said that, millions live in Florida, many millions more visit.  I live in Arizona.  Tombstone daily has a reenactment of the OK Corral, (I should tell the real story one day in a post).  So far, I haven’t seen Disneyworld have shootouts every day because of the Stand Your Ground law.

I’m not saying George Zimmerman didn’t overreact or use racial slurs or any of that.  I’m saying it will be hard to prove.  This isn’t France, where an Examining Magistrate can find something to hold Zimmerman on for political reasons.  It’s also natural for people to assume someone is guilty.  That’s what makes the English system of justice so atypical.  Innocent until proven guilty is not typical.  In most of the world, it’s the other way around, you have to prove your innocence.

I hope George Zimmerman didn’t shoot Trayvon Martin for racial reasons.  The victim didn’t do anything wrong.  He lived there.  This is the United States of America, Trayvon Martin didn’t need a passport to be there.

There’s nothing wrong with trying to protect your community.  There is with overreacting.  That needs to be proven first.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trayvon Martin Case and George Zimmerman, Only One Walked Away.

  1. Irene says:

    I should think the “innocent until proven guilty” should apply to Trayvon, too, don’t you?

    I don’t want Zimmerman to be lynched without a trial, but I think his motives need to be seriously examined. I don’t even think it was a hate crime per se. I think Zimmerman wanted to be a cop so badly he took the law unto himself. That, no matter what state you live in, is against the law.

    So we try him. We get him on the stand and ask him. He’s in hiding. He probably thinks people are out to lynch him…guilty or not guilty. He may have something there….

    • tucsonmike says:

      Hey Irene, thanks. I am about to write the next stage in this. I will get to this, especially as witnesses are coming forward.

  2. Pingback: George Zimmerman Trial, The End. | I am an Author, I Must Auth

Leave a Reply

