Here We Are, San Diego.


A tower in Balboa Park, San Diego

A tower in Balboa Park, San Diego (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love flying Southwest Airlines.  The crews are so much fun and so casual.  They enjoyed my new Sarcasm t-shirt.  Well their crews can be like that.  Others here in San Diego complimented on the shirt.

It was clear most of the way and could see the Colorado River from the plane, so I knew when we were in California.  It got foggy as we approached San Diego.  I thought we ended up on a San Francisco plane by mistake.  (The next stop on our flight was San Jose.  Yes, I know the way to San Jose).

Got on the 992 bus, driver was from Michigan originally and super nice.  You travel along Harbor Drive, so you get to see a lot of water.  Got to go past the old railroad terminal here, which I love.

The Westgate Hotel is a grand old hotel downtown.  The trolley runs behind it on C Street.  Horton Plaza is across the street.

Elaine, my Mom and I took the bus to Balboa Park, took the tram around Balboa Park and went to the San Diego Museum of Art.

The staff there is really nice and helpful.  They had an exhibit on Buddhist statues in China and Japanese silk painting.

Balboa Park is beautiful and you can spend your entire San Diego vacation there.  More later.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here We Are, San Diego.

  1. G’Day! Tucsonmike,
    Along the same lines,, Me and my family are planning on going to San Diego for the holidays. Can you recommend some places that are worth seeing? I mean places that you can’t find in any other place on the earth. ( e.g New York’s statue of liberty , the pyramid of Egypt, The Persepolis of Iran )

    And if not so, give me some really good reasons for going to san diego. The weather? The people?

    Thanks you guys!
    Wishes

    • tucsonmike says:

      Well let me answer your questions. Things you can’t duplicate elsewhere: The San Diego Zoo. For the rest of Balboa Park, go on Sunday if you can. The huge Spreckels organ is used for a concert at 2 PM. Check out the Intl cottages left over from the 1915 Pan American Exposition. You only need to give a donation, some of snacks but all have information about different countries.

      Old Town San Diego, the original settlement. Worth a day to explore the shops which are replicas of what was there.

      La Jolla just of the cliffs on the Pacific.

Leave a Reply

