Tuesday Tales, August 7th, 2012. Baseball.


Julio Lugo of the Boston Red Sox warming up be...

Julio Lugo of the Boston Red Sox warming up before a game against the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim at Fenway Park 4/16/2007 20:24, 17 April 2007 . . Toasterb . . 1060×788 (164,478 bytes) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s a cool evening at the ballpark, with a breeze.  You eat ballpark food, which may not be good for you, but it’s tradition.

I am old enough that baseball was THE sport discussed in the house.  Old enough to know the Dodgers had a home before Chavez Ravine in Los Angeles.  My mother could walk to the old homestead in Flatbush.  The neighborhood was once called Pigtown, the ballpark was Ebbitts Field.

I’ve been to the ballpark in Chavez Ravine.  The old ballpark is the Jackie Robinson Apartments.  Named after someone who played there when it was a baseball park.

This isn’t the essay I was originally going to write, but I couldn’t  stop my fingers from walking across the keyboard.  My parents stories were as real as though I’d been to games with them.

I get the same feeling from the minor league teams here in Tucson.  Shea Stadium, where the team I grew up cheering for, the New York Mets,   was a multi-purp0se stadium, without that same feeling.

I married a Boston Red Sox fan.  The Harvard historian Doris Kearns Goodwin speaks about Fenway Park resembling Ebbitts Field.  You get the feeling of being close to the fans, when you see a game at Fenway.

Baseball has the slow pace and the timelessness.  It is a break from our troubles.  There are no deadlines, no countdown.  Just two teams playing a game.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tales, August 7th, 2012. Baseball.

  1. Lindsay says:

    Reading this reminded me of when they were the Brooklyn Dodgers.

  2. Karen says:

    I love baseball Michael. I am also a huge Mets fan. Growing up going to the ballpark was simple. $5 ticket got you a box seat on field level. Thanks for writing this beautiful essay.

Leave a Reply

