Baltimore.


Baltimore Oriole with String

Baltimore Oriole with String (Photo credit: this is for the birds)

I feel compelled to write about Baltimore today.  My first conscious thoughts about Baltimore were at age nine.  The Orioles.  Their four game sweep of the Dodgers in the World Series in 1966.  Upstarts, LOL!

So I will start with the Orioles.  The original Baltimore Orioles were a 19th Century team.  Then the original Orioles in the American League moved to New York and became the New York Highlanders, then a team you may have heard of.  The New York Yankees.

The modern Orioles went to Baltimore from St. Louis, where they had been the sad second. St. Louis team the Browns.

In 1969, the Orioles were tearing the American League up.  I grew up as a New York Mets fan.  My great uncle Max was visiting from Baltimore to see my grandfather.  Max just smiled at the idea of the Mets defeating the Orioles in the World Series.  I got the last laugh, but is it nice to get a laugh on your Great Uncle?

In 1988, the Orioles started out 0 and 22.  I remember a circulating joke from when I was living in Virginia.

A young runaway is seen by a policeman in the wee hours.  “Son, why aren’t with your Mama?”

“My Mama beats me.”

“What about your Daddy?”

“He beats me too.”

“Son, you can’t wander the streets of Baltimore all night, where were you headed anyway?”

“Memorial Stadium.  I hear the Orioles don’t beat anyone up.”

I know, it’s for the birds, I said it for you.

 

 

Fast forward to the 1990’s and Cal Ripken, son of Maryland and Orioles hero.  Got to watch the game on TV, where he broke Lou Gehrig’s consecutive games record.

In 1998, I attended a Toastmasters conference.  I stayed with my cousins and took them to an Orioles game.  I loved Camden Yards.  The feel of an old ballpark with Boog Powell‘s barbecue stand.  (Boog Powell was an Orioles star during my childhood).

Growing up otherwise, Baltimore was a place to ride through on my train journeys to Washington.  I remember the rundown row houses with the white steps.  (White steps are a major part of Baltimore row houses and in better neighborhoods are very well kept).  

Click on Baltimore Culture.

 

Portrayals of Baltimore:

The Wire.

David Simon  The creator of the Wire and Homicide Life on the Street, reporter for the Baltimore Sun.  There is also the show  Homicide:  Life on the Street was based on A Year on the Killing Streets.

The Corner

Ed Burns, retired Baltimore Homicide Detective who is also a writer along with David Simon.

Ace of Cakes on Food Channel.  A fun side of Baltimore, Duff brings joy to baking. And you thought I was only going to show the gritty side.

No Reservations Rust Belt.  Anthony Bourdain and Zamir Gotta visit Charm City.

 

 

I enjoy Lexington Market, Crabs with Old Bay seasoning, beer, the B&O Museum and  Fells Point.  No longer just a place to go through, and only three hours from where I grew up in New York City.   Take the trip and check out Charm City.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baltimore.

  1. Pingback: Baltimore II | I am an Author, I Must Auth

Leave a Reply

