Facebook; The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly.


Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Why do I call Facebook the good, the bad, and the ugly?  Don’t get me wrong, it is a wonderful tool, and I’ve met many great people on Facebook.  As with anything else on the Internet, there is good and there is bad.  You just need to steer between the shoals in the Internet Sea.

I thought of this because of employment and people, who are looking for employment.  It makes sense to be careful on Facebook.  Common sense, (which isn’t always common) should tell you not to post anything confidential or negative about your employer.

There are teenage kids out there, who don’t know this.  They need to understand that in our Internet Age, an employer may check your Facebook page.

OK, you decide to be a hermit and NOT have a Facebook page.  Wrong again!  An employer now wonders “What are you hiding?” and maybe how computer savvy you are.

So have the Facebook page, but just remember, by having it, anyone, including a future employer is having a look at your personality without immediately needing a company psychologist.  In other words, be savvy in all you do.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Silly Look at The World, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook; The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly.

  1. Pingback: Facebook and Image. | I am an Author, I Must Auth

Leave a Reply

