Jew in a Box?


Jew in a Box?  If it were not so serious, you might think it a Dr. Seuss routine.  It is an exhibit in Berlin at the Jewish Museum.  It is serious, not funny.

The first question I wanted to ask, was, did they mix it up with the Berlin Zoo?  I understand the desire to educate Germans about Jews.  I almost never agree with Chabad, sacrilegious sod that I am, but they are right.  They have a Berlin office, come visit them and learn about Judaism.

I see what the museum was trying to do, but there is too much negative symbolism to make it work.  Jews wore the yellow badges and went into the trains willingly.  Why would you go into a box willingly in modern Germany?

I have had African-American friends tell me they sometimes get that.  If they befriend or they are befriended by a non African-American, they are now the representative of the African-American community to this person.  Is it to a certain degree the same for Jews in modern Germany?  Then again, there are 200,000 Jews out of a population of 82 million Germans.  There are many more African-Americans and African-Americans are a bit more visible.  After all, some guy named Barack Obama happens to be the President of the United States of America and the last time I looked, he is African-American.  Then again, all I see when I look is my President, end of discussion.  We’ve come a long way that way.

In Germany, the Germans could have learned about Jews without killing them. You wouldn’t need Jew in a Box today.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in African American History for Dummies, Jews, Judaism, Philosophy, Profiling, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jew in a Box?

  1. Christina says:

    Yeah, I think it would have been more effective if they integrated Judaism in the classrooms.

    • tucsonmike says:

      Christina, thank you so much for responding. I look forward to reading what you write. Yes, teaching it in the classroom would have been nice. If you can find it, an interesting book about Jews under Eastern European Communism. It is called Hole in the Heart of the World.

      • Christina says:

        I will have to look it up. Studying in Eastern Europe I get to see firsthand how Jews were and how they are currently treated. It was a shock to me to learn that most Lithuanian Jews were killed prior before Hitler and his men entered the country. In Lithuania, a pagan holiday is celebrated and it is similar to Halloween in the States, but instead you dress up like a Jew. It was strange and I did not like it one bit.

      • tucsonmike says:

        Dear Christina, thank you for the informative reply. Where in Eastern Europe were you studying and what got you interested?

      • Christina says:

        I am currently in Lithuania.

      • tucsonmike says:

        Yes, I got off my behind and read that LOL! Sometimes I am just lazy. 🙂 Where in the States are you from?

      • Christina says:

        Born and raised in North Carolina and I go to school in PA.

  2. Pingback: Jews and Poles. | I am an Author, I Must Auth

Leave a Reply

