Philosophy and the Civil War.


U.S. Presidential flag, 1960-present (not usua...

U.S. Presidential flag, 1960-present (not usually called a “standard” in official U.S. government terminology). It is defined in Executive Order 10860. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Another thing I learned from David P. Goldman‘s book about Civilizations dying.  What makes the United States different?

Well the United States is united by an idea.  The idea is buying into changing your life and self improvement.

The Pilgrims were literate and drew up a contract.  They were making a decision past kin and ethnicity.  Same with the German religious groups, many of whom left few behind in Germany.

The Pilgrims were Calvinists.  That was the stamp they put on.  Now, I want to take you to the American Civil War.

I’ve always suspected to a limited degree, you could see the American Civil War as an extension of the English Civil War.  Think of the New Englanders as the Roundheads and the First Families of Virginia as the Cavaliers.

Look at a deeper philosophical incentive.  The Union was the idea of the terrible swift sword.  Goldman called John Adams a Hebraic scholar.  The Confederacy wanted to conquer new lands.  I never thought of this, but they were really acting like Ancient Athens.  (Many educated Southerners were highly educated in the classics).

The Civil War ended Calvinism in New England.  No one, thought of the horrific   casualties the Civil War had.  (625,000 died on both sides).  The New England elite became less religious, more pragmatic.

The United States also has a dichotomy, between being isolationist and wanting to export Americanism.  Jimmy Carter and George W. Bush, who was Wilsonian in his approach to Iraq.

There are many different angles to look at the philosophy behind the American Civil War.  Please do not hesitate to add to this.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Abraham Lincoln, African American History for Dummies, Atlanta, Culture, Hamiltonian vs. Jeffersonian, History Made Fun, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philosophy and the Civil War.

  1. gpcox says:

    As far as civilizations go, the U.S. is a baby and we USED TO BE at our peak. We have been in a steady decline for at least 25 years now. We try to adapt to too many different ideas at once and get our thoughts, laws and ideals all scrambled. Someone needs to put the brakes on, back up and re-group.

Leave a Reply

