Gilbert and Sullivan’s Trial by Jury. A Silly Look.


English: W. S. Gilbert's illustration for &quo...

English: W. S. Gilbert’s illustration for “Now, Jurymen, hear my advice” from Gilbert and Sullivan’s Trial by Jury (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m a major Gilbert and Sullivan fan, but cannot help having fun with it.  I will start with Trial by Jury.

The basic story is this:  It’s a civil case, that is a breach of promise of marriage.  The jilted woman, Angelina is suing, Edwin.

The judge has the jury there and his audience.  You can also imagine the Muppet Show doing this.  If you were in West Africa, you would call them “Praise Singers.”

You could have Rumpole of the Bailey defend Edwin, but in this case he should stick with small time crooks like the Timson’s and their ongoing feud, with the Malloy family.

The judge is no paragon of virtue.  He used his mentor, married the mentors daughter to gain his position, then kicked her to the curb.  In another time, there might have been a duel.

Angelina is treated with the ultimate compassion.  What Edwin doesn’t tell you is his mother made him ditch Angelina.  “What kind of name is Angelina for a proper English girl?”  (Think Dame Maggie Smith in Downton Abbey).

Edwin is just lucky this is the Old Bailey in London, and not the Cochise County, Arizona courthouse (Original one was in Tombstone).  Then, Edwin would have been taken out back, hanged, and Boot Hill Cemetery is nearby.  There are some interesting tombstones in Tombstone’s Boot Hill Cemetery.  What would Edwin’s say?  He didn’t get the girl?  Moral of the story; a Man’s handshake has to be his word?

Edwin lucked out when the Judge married Angelina and Edwin was just written off as a bum.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Silly Look at The World, United Kingdom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gilbert and Sullivan’s Trial by Jury. A Silly Look.

  1. Love it … need to share with all my fellow legal types!

Leave a Reply

