Hasidic Jews (Haredi) Need to Join the Jewish Mainstream.


Torah binder

Torah binder (Photo credit: Center for Jewish History, NYC)

I was prompted to write this by a story my Mom told me this week.  She belongs to a Reform Synagogue.  The Associate Rabbi is gay and she and partner went to pray at the Wailing Wall in Jerusalem.  Many other women were there to pray.  The Haredi quickly bused in female students to block the way to the wall and the men cursed them spit on them and threw eggs.  Is that a holy way to behave?  Is that a way to treat other Jews?

The translation of Hasidic or Haredi is “The pious ones.”  Not very pious of you, was it?

The Hasidic Jews or Haredi as they are called in Israel, need to join the modern world.

You aren’t living in a Polish shetl anymore.  The ghettos are gone.

I am not saying you should abandon the study of Talmud and Torah.  For goodness sake though, use your minds to explore the modern world.  You need to learn about the modern world to survive.  The world keeps moving ahead, whether you do or not.

Liberate your women!  We need all the brainpower we can get, male and female.

You drain Israel by not helping the country out in the military.  You going to pray when the bombs fall?  Oops I forgot, some of you want the State of Israel destroyed, because it wasn’t created by divine authority.

In the United States, you manipulate the system to get welfare, etc.  If want to to pray and put on Tefilin, I don’t need your help, but thank you.

Again, I refer to one of my favorite books; Ruth Wisse‘s Jews and Power.  I would recommend it to the Hasidic community but oops, it isn’t Torah and Mein Gott written by a woman?  Gevalt!

We Jews are only as strong as our most disaffected members, she said.

The other reason I became fascinated and wanted to write this was, I have a recent issue of National Geographic (which they probably wont read either).  It covers genetics and its been found Ashkenazic Jews have a code in the genes that produces the lowest rate of Alzheimers.  So we, need to use that advantage to stretch our minds to the stars.

Let me close with one grim note.  As with World War II, when the chips are down, we will share the same boxcar.  If I am feeling charitable, I will give you some straw to for a bed.  Ove רפורמית. עמית הרב הוא הומו והיא ובן הזוג הלכו להתפלל בכותל המערבי בירושלים. נשים רבות אחרות היו שם כדי להתפלל. החרדיים שהובא באוטובוסים במהירותבסטודנטיות כדי לחסום את הדרך אל הקירוהגברים קיללו אותם ירקו עליהםוהשליך ביצים. האם זהדרך קדושה להתנהג ? הואשדרך לטיפול ביהודים אחרים ?

התרגום חסידי או חרדי הוא “האדוקים אלה . ” לא אדוק מאוד שלך , היה זה?

היהודים החסידיים או החרדי כפי שהם נקראים בישראל, צריכים להצטרף לעולם המודרני.

אתה לא חיבshetl פולני יותר. הגטאות נעלמו.

אני לא אומר שאתה צריך לנטוש את לימוד התלמודוהתורה. למען שם אם כי, להשתמש במוחךכדי לחקור את העולם המודרני. אתה צריך ללמוד עלהעולם המודרני כדי לשרוד. העולם ממשיך לנוע קדימה, אם אתה עושה או לא.

לשחרר את הנשים שלך ! אנו זקוקים לכל כוח המוח שאנחנו יכולים לקבל , זכר ונקבה.

אתה לנקז ישראל בכך שלא עוזר למדינה בצבא. אתה הולך להתפלל בעת שהפצצות נופלות ? אופס שכחתי, כמה מכם רוצה את מדינת ישראל נהרסה, משום שהיא לא נוצרה על ידי סמכות אלוהית .

בארצות הברית , אתה לתפעל את המערכת כדי לקבל רווחה, וכו ‘אם רוצה להתפללומניחים תפילין , אני לא צריך את העזרה שלך , אבל תודה לך.

שוב, אני מתייחס לאחד מהספרים האהובים עליי ; היהודים של רות וייסוכוח . אני ממליץ עליו לקהילה החסידית אבל אופס , זה לא תורה ומיין גוט שנכתב על ידיאישה? געוואלד !

אנחנו, יהודים, הם רק חזקים כמו החברים המנוכרים ביותר שלנו , היא אמרה.

הסיבה אחרתשהוקסמתיורציתי לכתוב את זה היה , יש לי בגיליון האחרון של נשיונל ג’יאוגרפיק ( שהם כנראה רגיל או לקרוא) . היא משתרעת על גנטיקהויש יהודים האשכנזים נמצאוקודבגנים שמייצר את השיעור הנמוך ביותר של אלצהיימר . אז אנחנו, צריכים להשתמש ביתרוןשכדי למתוח את דעתנולכוכבים.

תן לי קרוב עם פתק אחד קודר . כמו במלחמת העולם השנייה , כאשר השבבים ירדו , אנו חולקים את אותה קרון . אם אני מרגיש צדקה, אני אתן לך קצת קשלמיטה. שוב והחוצהr and out.

 

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

