The Gang of Four, Jews, Chinese Food, and Birobidzhan?


English: Birobidzhan railroad station Русский:...

English: Birobidzhan railroad station Русский: Вокзал станции Биробиджан (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Gang of Four, Jews, Chinese Food, and Birobidzhan?  Seems like a rather odd combination.

Yesterday I was on my Sun Tran bus to work, with my acquaintance James Ma.  Somehow the subject of Mao Tse-Tung and the Little Red Book came up.  Oh yes, I remember.  The driver handed us a card saying, as of October 14th, the bugs with the new Sun Go system will be worked out and no more excuses will be accepted for not having a Sun Go card.  The two of us were trying to come up with a rap for a Sun Tran commercial.  Alas, here we are being politically incorrect.  A middle aged Chinese and Jewish man trying to come up with a rap.  It’s pretty sad.

As Eric Idle says in Spamalot, ” if you don’t want to lose…you won’t succeed on Broadway if you don’t have any Jews.”

Well to take that to another level, you wont succeed without blacks in rap.  (I will probably get a rap on the head, but that’s later).  (I know, Chinese and Jewish guys can’t jump and have no rhythm.  There, I said it for you and beat you to the punch).

Then James brought up the Gang of Four who were brought down to make way for Chinese reforms, after the death of Mao.

I told him four is not a gang, but a quartet.  They could play Vivaldi, if they had musical instruments.  I also told him, there weren’t even enough for a Minyan, the Jewish prayer group.

Cheeky James came up with a solution.  Jews and Chinese food.  Very clever.  Bring more Jews in for the Chinese food.  Then I rememberd.  Birobidzhan, the Jewish homeland created by Stalin is on the Chinese border (The Amur River).

This isn’t a case of the Jews getting lost because they didn’t ask for directions.  Stalin said GO!  Asshole.  I wish I could dig him up and punch his skeleton, I care not a whit what Vlad the Impaler Putin thinks.

If you know the story of Fiddler on the Roof, the second daughter marries the radical and off to Siberia they go.

Mama wants a fur coat.  No fancy furrier here.  Papa has become Daniel Boone.  He will be back three weeks later and make the coat himself.

And all that Chinese food nearby…

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Silly Look at The World, Arizona, How Monty Python Ruined My Life, Jews, Judaism, Short Stories, Tucson Sun Tran, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

