My Genealogy and Jewishness.


While I’ve been taking this journey, it’s made me ask many questions.

I thought about the article I added my comments to about American Jews losing their Jewishness.

I could not have asked many of these questions until recently, because we don’t have the DNA tools we have now.

I have always been an American first.    I’ve always been fascinated by things Jewish, but never religious.

I know I am almost all Jewish by DNA (90%).  The majority is definitely in regions that were all once part of the Polish Empire.

I’ve been to Poland, because I know people and want to return, knowing what I know about my ancestry.  I will have help tracing the Polish sources.

It bothers me when other Jews say American Jews will disappear just by living here.  I want to ask, how do you know?  As far as Israel goes, I would like to visit one day, it would be a pilgrimage.  As far as I know, I have no family in Israel.  The article I responded to talked about American Jews being comfortable.  It is true.  My wife is mostly Irish.  She is not a religious Catholic.  No  one asks her if she is Irish or American.  If I do not attend services, someone who is an Orthodox Jews does not have the right to define me.

I am finding out with all the DNA stuff and my friends who have had it done, we are one thing and one thing first.  Americans.  I am loyal to this nation, which took my ancestors in.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Charton ascendance de famille et l'ADN., Charton Family Ancestry, genealogy, Jews, Judaism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Genealogy and Jewishness.

  1. Piper Bayard says:

    I find it interesting that anyone would say American Jews will disappear just by living here. The American Jews I have known have been more adamantly Jewish than even the Jews I know from Israel. As a Middle Eastern Dancer, I find it similar that American dance circles are more devoted to keeping things traditional than dancers are in the Middle East.

    • tucsonmike says:

      Hey Piper, thanks for the blog love. Now you understand why I responded. My reaction was what?! I am proud of Jewish history, but I am an American hands down. This country took my family in from oppression. I will do my utmost for it.

Leave a Reply

