Nelson Mandela.


English: Young Nelson Mandela. This photo date...

English: Young Nelson Mandela. This photo dates from 1937. South Africa protect the copyright of photographs for 50 years from their first publication. See . Since this image would have been PD in South Africa in 1996, when the URAA took effect, this image is PD in the U.S. Image source: http://www.anc.org.za/people/mandela/index.html (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I can only give a personal view.  I met my South African friend, Laurie Musgrove, in 1993.  I remember her frightened emails as the election was coming up.  While she opposed Apartheid, the specter of all out civil war was a distinct possibility.

The only thing I really knew about South Africa was because my father, Marvin Charton, was a military history buff, and I learned about the Zulus and the British defeat at Isandlhwana in 1879.

Hindsight is always 20/20.  I realized looking back, you could have appealed to me by saying the Nationalist Party was a bulwark against Communism and allied with the United States and Israel.   One can always overlook something they don’t like (Such as the fact, that much of the Afrikaner leadership and the Broderbund was pro-Nazi during World War II and how racist they were).

OK, what does this have to do with Nelson Mandela?  I would have considered him a terrorist in my younger days.  I highly respected Dr. Martin Luther King, but not Nelson Mandela.  Because it would have been sold to me as the regime in South Africa was fighting Marxists.

I once knew someone who was in the South African version of Special Forces and fought Cubans in Angola, as well as the African National Congress.

Eventually, I learned better.  The Nationalist Party was fighting against history and what was right.

I understand South Africa has problems.  Look at what has to be overcome.  In the long run there was not a bloodbath in 1994, because of the able leadership of Nelson Mandela.

I was in South Africa on business in 1996 and stayed with my friend.  Nelson Mandela was President.

I don’t need to repeat what has already been in the news and I am rambling.  May add something more intelligent later.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Africa, History Made Fun, South Africa and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

