What Made the United States Civil Rights Movement Possible?


I asked the question What made the United States Civil Rights Movement possible of my friend and author of African-American History for Dummies, Ronda Racha Penrice.

She reminded me, (I am an old person, I sometimes forget things), that in the book she mentioned the mainstream media covered the movement.

That told me something.  For arguments sake, what if the mainstream media avoided the story altogether?  Or worse, sided with the status quo?

History is never simple.  Many things have to come together.  It’s not as though African-Americans woke up one day and decided to do this.  Hey, we are tired of this.  They were always working for it.  Timing is everything.

One:  You know the old saying, money talks, and something else walks?  When you have economic clout, you can make things happen.

Two:  We fought World War II for “Civilization and Democracy.”  Would look pretty sad, if we preached it to the rest of the world and didn’t do it here.  Makes persuasive arguments more difficult.

Three:  If you’ve ever seen the movie Gandhi, with Ben Kingsley, you realize something.  You can only have peaceful protest in a civil society, with the rule of law.

The African National Congress tried that.  Then something happened in 1960 in South Africa, called Sharpeville.  If the police and/or military, are mowing non violent protestors down, then it becomes a game of “How many are you willing to sacrifice?”

Winston Churchill saw himself as a failure, for not saving India, for the Empire.  He also realized, he would have to have hundreds of Amritsar Massacres to make it happen.  If, he could make it happen.

Depends on the tactics, and the culture involved.    Ronda, please feel free to correct any of this.

 

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in African American History for Dummies, History Made Fun, Ronda Racha Penrice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Made the United States Civil Rights Movement Possible?

  1. “We fought World War II for “Civilization and Democracy.” Would look pretty sad, if we preached it to the rest of the world and didn’t do it here. Makes persuasive arguments more difficult.”

    The US elites, both in politics and the media, were worried about our national image. It is because of this that the government decided to respond less violently than they did at earlier times. And it is because of this that the MSM was so concerned about showing positive social change was happening here. This national image was so strategically important that it had to be heeded.

Leave a Reply

