Why Do I Need to Speak English?!


OK, I will be honest, I speak Brooklyn.  Yes, English is a second language, but now as a middle aged writer, I never thought see the day, when I would correct other peoples’ grammar.  Am I just becoming old and cranky?  (Well yes, it is the Mencken streak).

English is the most important language in the world (I can hear the Academie Francaise, sharpening their swords and an angry roar from Beijing).  I remember this from when Alistair Cooke produced the program The Story of English.  English only became such a language relatively recently.  It has become the world language for many things.  I’m fortunate enough to have grown up in the United States, where it is a native language.

Millions of people worldwide speak English as a second language.    That seems obvious.  I’m writing this because of something funny that happened yesterday.

My Rwandan friend and I were chatting.  He brought up learning English in High School.  It started when he asked me the correct pronunciation of “father” and “brother.”  Those sounds don’t exist in his native Kinyarwanda and in French, “TH” is pronounced as “T.”  His English teacher was a sixty year old Canadian priest.  “Why do I have to learn English?” he cried.  I already speak Kinyarwanda, Swahili, Latin and French!  I am in Rwanda, where am I going to use English?”

I’m Jewish, but have heard the Catholic school stories about sound beatings for transgressions.  Anastase wasn’t beaten, but the following happened:

His teacher pulled the glasses down his nose.  (I know how much trouble I’m in, when that happens at home).  He looked at Anastase and said, “I never thought I would be teaching in this jungle.  You never know where you’ll end up!”

I had tears in my eyes, I was laughing so hard.  I turned to Anastase and said, “He was right.  May have been thirty years later, but he was right.”

Don’t you hate that?  Some people always have to be right.  My father was always right.  I wanted to take Spanish in high school, but Dad wouldn’t let me.  I use my broken French, more than Spanish, even though I live in Tucson, Arizona.  Go figure.  So the moral of this story is you never know.

And the band played on, or as veteran newscaster Linda Ellerbe once said, “And so it goes.”  Or Walter Cronkite’s “And that’s the way it was.”

Oui , les gens ont besoin de parler anglais . Les Chinois apprennent à un rythme rapide . Nous devons enseigner à nos enfants d’autres langues quand ils sont jeunes d’élargir leurs esprits .

OK , je vais être honnête , je parle de Brooklyn . Oui , l’anglais est une langue seconde , mais maintenant comme un écrivain d’âge moyen , je n’ai jamais pensé voir le jour , quand je veux corriger la grammaire des autres peuples . Suis-je en train de devenir vieux et grincheux ? ( Eh bien oui , c’est la série Mencken ) .

L’anglais est la langue la plus importante dans le monde ( je peux entendre l’Académie française , aiguiser leurs épées et un rugissement de colère de Pékin ) . Je me souviens de ce moment de Alistair Cooke a produit le programme L’ histoire de l’anglais . Anglais seulement devenu un tel langage relativement récemment. Il est devenu la langue du monde pour beaucoup de choses . J’ai la chance d’avoir grandi aux États-Unis , où il est une langue maternelle .

Des millions de personnes dans le monde parlent l’anglais comme langue seconde. Cela semble évident. J’écris cela parce que quelque chose de drôle qui s’est passé hier .

Mon ami rwandais et je causaient . Il a évoqué apprentissage de l’anglais à l’école secondaire . Tout a commencé quand il m’a demandé la prononciation correcte de «père» et «frère». Ces sons n’existent pas dans son kinyarwanda maternelle et en français , “TH” est prononcé comme ” T. ” Son professeur d’anglais était un soixante ans prêtre canadien . ” Pourquoi dois-je apprendre l’anglais? ” s’écria-t- il . Je parle déjà Kinyarwanda , Swahili , latin et en français ! Je suis au Rwanda , où vais-je utiliser l’anglais ? ”

Je suis juif , mais j’ai entendu les histoires catholiques de l’école sur les coups sonores de transgressions . Anastase n’a pas été battu , mais ce qui suit est arrivé :

Son professeur a tiré les lunettes sur son nez . ( Je sais combien la difficulté je suis, quand cela arrive à la maison ) . Il regarda Anastase et dit: «Je n’ai jamais pensé que je serais enseigné dans cette jungle . Vous ne savez jamais où vous finirez ! ”

J’avais les larmes aux yeux, je riais si fort . Je me tournai vers Anastase et dit: « Il avait raison . Peut avoir été trente ans plus tard , mais il avait raison . ”

Ne vous déteste ça? Certaines personnes ont toujours raison . Mon père avait toujours raison . Je voulais prendre l’espagnol à l’ école , mais papa ne m’a pas laissé . J’utilise mon français cassé , plus que l’espagnol , même si je vis à Tucson , en Arizona. Allez comprendre . Donc la morale de cette histoire est que vous ne savez jamais .

Et le groupe a joué sur , ou présentateur vétéran comme Linda Ellerbe a dit: « Et si ça se passe. ” Ou Walter Cronkite de ” Et c’est la façon dont elle était . ”

Oui , les gens ont besoin de parler anglais . Les Chinois apprennent à un rythme rapide . Nous devons enseigner à nos enfants d’autres langues quand ils sont jeunes d’élargir leurs esprits .

是的,人們需要講英語。中國人正在學習它以快速的步伐。我們需要教育我們的孩子其他語言的時候,他們都很年輕,擴大他們的頭腦。

OK,我會說實話,我講布魯克林。是的,英語是第二語言,但是現在作為一個中年作家,我從來沒有想過看天的時候我會糾正別人的語法。我只是變得老胡思亂想? (嗯是的,它是門肯連勝) 。

英語是世界上最重要的語言(我可以聽到法蘭西學院院士,磨礪他們的劍和來自北京的憤怒的咆哮) 。我記住了這個時候阿利斯泰爾庫克產生的程序英語的故事。英語才成為這樣的語言相對最近。它已經成為世界語言的很多事情。我有幸在美國,它是一個母語長大了。

數以百萬計的世界各地的人講英語作為第二語言。這似乎是顯而易見的。我寫的,因為好玩的東西昨天才發生的。

我盧旺達的朋友和我聊天。他提出了在高中學習英語。它開始時,他問我“爸爸”和正確的發音“哥”。這些聲音並不在他的家鄉盧旺達語和法語存在, “TH”的發音為“ T”。他的英語老師是一位六十歲的加拿大牧師。 “我為什麼要學英語? ”他哭了。我已經講盧旺達語,斯瓦希里語,拉丁語和法語!我在盧旺達,在那裡我將使用英語嗎? “

我是猶太人,但聽說過天主教學校的故事有關聲音毆打的罪過。阿納斯塔斯沒有挨打,但是出現了下列情況:

他的老師拉著眼鏡了他的鼻子。 (我知道我是多麼的麻煩是在,當這種情況發生在家裡) 。他看著阿納斯塔斯說:“我從來沒有想過我會在教學這片叢林,你永遠不知道你會結束! ”

我只好含著眼淚,我笑這麼辛苦。我轉過身來,阿納斯塔斯說:“他是對的。也許已經三十年後,但他是對的。 ”

難道你不恨?有些人總是要權利。我的父親總是對的。我想利用西班牙在高中,但爸爸不會讓我。我用我的破法,超過西班牙,即使我住在亞利桑那州圖森。去的身影。所以這個故事的寓意是你永遠不知道。

和樂隊演奏,或作為老牌新聞主播琳達Ellerbe的曾經說過, “如此這般。 ”或沃爾特·克朗凱特的“這就是它的方式。 ”

是的,人們需要講英語。中國人正在學習它以快速的步伐。我們需要教育我們的孩子其他語言的時候,他們都很年輕,擴大他們的頭腦。

 

 

 

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Sarcastic Look at Life, A Silly Look at The World, Africa, Brooklyn, English Language, French Language, H.L. Mencken, Rwanda and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

