Moose


     I got the idea from a sign I saw on Facebook, of a Canadian road sign about hitting moose.  I’ve had my views of moose.  

he

     I have to start with Bullwinkle, that lovable, dopey sidekick or Rocky in the cartoon.  You will learn Moose are not like that in real life.  The only other funny, silly thing about moose was from the song, Moose Moose, I love a Moose.

      My father in law as a boy of twelve had to run away from a moose.  His uncle owned a camp in Maine, and my father in law was only able to escape because he could run through thickets where the moose couldn’t chase him.

 

     Three weeks after I moved to Boston, there was a news story.  A moose wandered into Downtown Lowell, 25 miles Northwest of Boston.  This is a highly populated area.  Fish and Game shot a dart into the moose.  It was tranquilized and they started to tie it up, when the moose woke up.  Oops.  They finally got it under control two hours later and the moose was moved to Northern Vermont.  End of story, right?  

     No, it wasn’t.  Several weeks later the moose was back in the news.  A Volkswagen Beetle hit the moose, killing the moose and the driver.  The car looked like an accordion, hence the need for such signs,  

      My buddy George Tully, better known as Numbskull Number Two (I am one, but that is another story) and I were driving through Maine at dusk.  “It would be interesting to see a moose now.”

“George, if we see a moose now, it will be the last thing we see.”

 

The signs warning you about moose are needed.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

