The New York City Subway, Another Layer of Hell?


     

 

It’s August when I’m writing this.  Just going into a subway station is enough to make you sweat.  Stale would consider the air in the New York Subway offensive.  My father, Marvin Charton, used to refer to the air down there as the “Air breathed by your grandfather.”   Does this mean I can get remembrances in familiar stations?

Getting in with the Metrocard, from my previous post is hardly a reward, but the invitation to the River Styx.  I never thought the River Styx was that hot.  Oh yes, I forgot, I am going into hell.  If a volcano appears under stations, I will believe anything.

How would Dante describe the New York Subway, if he were alive today?  Maybe he is looking down and scribbling.  What’s so special about the Wicked Witch of the West in the Wizard of Oz?  Down here, thousands of once beautiful women lose their looks and wonderful wickedness every day.  You step over the goo.  Don’t worry, it hardens by winter, and it is scraped off by transit workers at three in the morning, when the loud work trains come through.  The subway is loud enough, it doesn’t need help.  It offends the senses.

You hear the doink doink sound from Law and Order, as the doors are about to close.  Then you hear another sound.  It’s someone playing a trumpet for money.  No wonder people wear headphones in the subway.  This way, it’s your own noise, and you aren’t bothering other passengers.

I live in Arizona, now.  You forget the heat and the noise of the subway.  Before  you ask, yes, it is worse in the New York City Subway than Arizona.  I can’t get a permit for a gun in New York.  (There is probably a reason why it is almost impossible to get carry permits in New York.  The subway would look funny as the O.K. Corral.

 

So the next time someone tells me to go to hell, I will get on the subway.

 

 

 

 

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Sarcastic Look at Life, A Silly Look at The World, H.L. Mencken, How Monty Python Ruined My Life, Juvenal, Marvin Charton, New York and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

