What Have You Done to Yourself?!


I was reading an article in the Economist about young people getting tattoos and their acceptance in the workplace.

When I grew up in Brooklyn, New York, tattoos were only on criminals, sailors and prostitutes.  I KNOW what would have happened to me if I came home, rolled up my sleeve, shoved it in Mom’s and said “Look at this!”  Yes, my sister and my niece did that, but Mom mellowed since I was sixteen.

Then, it would have been a rather short lived teenage rebellion.  Kitchen knife tattoo removal, while I was held down and screamed.

OK, that was the sarcastic part.  Teenagers don’t think of these things, but we know, dear reader, youth is wasted on the young.

Tattoos aren’t cheap.  Whose money are you spending to get this Van Gogh of your body?   (If you don’t like it, hey, he cut his ear off, you can cut the tattoo off).

Do you trust the tattoo artist’s skill and needles?  After all, Dennis Rodman fell asleep on the table and look what happened to him.  ;)  I am trying to imagine a teenager sitting still long enough.

The Economist article mentioned a young lady, who was careful to get the tattoos on her feet, so they can be covered.

Young people don’t think ahead normally.  What about getting a job?  Having a tattoo can cost you a dream job.  Then what?  Who’s at fault?  What happens when your skin has changed and the tattoo you once thought you liked, you don’t like now.

If the tattoo is of a significant other and you break up, then what?  Does your ex get to remove his or her name?

What happens when you have had the tattoo for decades and it no longer has the same meaning?

I’m not telling you NOT to get the tattoo.  Just step out of your young person philosophy of live for today and think down the road.

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in A Sarcastic Look at Life, A Silly Look at The World, H.L. Mencken, Juvenal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

