Tucson Sisters in Crime, June 17th, 2017


Today was probably the safest Sisters in Crime meeting around.  The day was police officers and one fireman.  The afternoon was about arson investigation.  Did you know arson is a legal term?  The firemen use, “Human induced fire.”  Arson can only be used, when the police are investigating.

I was curious about types of arsonists.  They think and the books they use state, there’s no such thing as a professional arsonist.  It’s an easy crime to commit.  Most arsonists enjoy the act of the fire and blot out all else.  (I am being general).  I’ve read other things about arson, but want to read the books they mentioned.

The morning session was on Hostage Negotiation  The speaker was Sgt. Ericka Stropka Sgt. Tucson Police Department.  For this, everything she spoke about, I kept thinking of questions.  I’m glad I was able to offer information on cell phones, because I work with them.  Bad habit when hostage takers stream on Facebook what they are doing.  You want to be able to slow the streaming on the phone down, to cut down on the publicity for the bad guy.  She reminds of an old friend of mine, but shorter, shorter hair and a gun.

I felt her flak jacket.  To me not heavy, but on a hot Tucson day, all that equipment?

Most of us understand how delicate hostage negotiating is.  Sgt. Stropka shared a case, where the barricaded person committed suicide.  She only found out later, the victims father was nearby and had prevented him from killing himself before.  The mother said she would be relieved if he did it.  The moral of this story is you need to have as much intelligence as possible.  If they had known about the father, they would’ve used a male negotiator.

On a case, where she shared the audio, you could hear how she spoke with the hostage taker, showing empathy.  She is a very good speaker, (was a communications major at Arizona State University).   I look forward to speaking with her further and asking questions.

 

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

