Senator Ben Sasse The Vanishing American Adult


I was on the waiting list for the book and looking forward to it.  It’s well worth the wait, and I plan to buy a copy to take more notes.  I was a history minor in college and he’s a historian, so that piqued my interest as well.  

     I don’t want to give anything away, so this is not a book review, other than me saying read it!

    I agree with the book.  There some things I might add here and there.  In some ways, though, I was left with questions:  Questions, sadly, I don’t have answers for.

   I’m sixty years old.  Except for an exceptional few, I see millennials as a disaster.  (Now, I sound like President Trump, I get it, not intended).  They are wrapped up in themselves.  If they are on their phones walking toward you and not looking, they expect you to get out of the way, (Can’t you see I’m on the phone)?!

     Senator, I should add this for you.  My father worked at the same place as a college chemistry professor, until he died in 2012.  He was at Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York for fifty-six years.  I wish I had a career like that.  Yes, the common element through my working life is customer service and problem solving, but the average stay in a job is four years.  I’m glad I’m as old as I am.  The work world is changing so much.  Senator, you’re right in saying the Digital Age has more change in a shorter time span, than the beginning of Agricultural and Industrial Revolutions combined.  

    I’m not a Luddite.  I understand change.  The changes as time goes on, though are leaving me farther and farther behind.  When I wasn’t in school, I saw my Dad’s workplace and my Mom’s various workplaces.  At Pratt, I was part of a community.  Senator, I had something like what you described growing up, mentors and colleagues who took an interest in me.

    I didn’t end up a college professor, however, in a roundabout way, I understand what was described in the book.  I understood what went on where my parents worked.  Reading was encouraged, I’ve always enjoyed reading.  I’ve become more of a fanatic now, since I discovered Ashkenazi Jews have the lowest rate of Alzheimer’s.  Reading and learning helps to expand that, along with exercise.  I’ve had jobs, many I didn’t like, but I always considered it professionalism to put in my best.  

    I mentioned playing games and being on phones.  You can’t blame the inventions.  Every invention has a downside.  Galileo invented the telescope to look at the heavens.  Generals adopted it and hellish battlefields were created.  Firearms make hunting simpler, people were doing  a fine enough job killing each other before firearms.  The Internet has some great stuff and some bad stuff.  Think Yin and Yang:  Positive Negative.

    Senator, I was going to take you to task for not including Chinese philosophers in books, then I thought about it.  I have to think of ways for Confucian thought to work.

    Now for my questions:  Again, I agree with you completely, the young people delay adulthood.  I have twenty something nieces, with no intention of leaving the nest.

    What’s to be done?  The first question I need to ask, is how important is it to the United States to instill what you wrote about?  My reason for asking this are simple.  Will enough parents voluntarily do what you have laid out?  If this is important to the United States, will the country have to find a way to enforce this?  Or will our system of freedom as it is, do us in?  The Founding Fathers didn’t count on what’s happening with vanishing adulthood.  

    One lesson I’ve learned.  Hardship builds resilience.  Again, it is hardship in United States terms.  Something tells me my hardship is nothing like a poor person in the Philippines.  

    We can now make the connection between luxury and not dealing with hardship.  Do we need to cut down on luxuries by government fiat and toughen our people like Ancient Sparta?  These are the questions that roll through my mind.

I have not developed it in more detail, but these are questions I have.  

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

