Cynthia Nixon Sex in the City Governor of New York?!


When my wife told my Cynthia Nixon, (For the uninitiated, she played Miranda Hobbes in Sex in the City),  was mulling over running for Governor of New York State, I had to look for the news stories.

    I may live in Tucson, Arizona now, but I’m Brooklyn born and bred.  I lived on the same block until I was twenty-five years old.  

Mom still lives in the apartment I grew up in.  Therefore, I pay attention to what goes on in the city and state.  

    I need to ask Mom whether there are New Yorkers that angry with Governor Cuomo.  I’ve read he might run for President in 2020.

    Well he wasn’t counting on Cynthia Nixon’s wealthy friends thinking she would make a good Governor.  I must give her credit.  She has worked and advocated for better schools in the state.

Just because we have a president, who is a performer, doesn’t mean we need more.  Then again, in the second book Monty Python member John Cleese wrote with his friend and therapist Robin Skynner called Life and How to Survive It.  They talked about the celebrity culture in the United States.  Well, we’ve certainly made that true.  Ronald Reagan, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Donald Trump.  

    Not just did I grow up in New York, but I was a Political Science major and have traveled all over New York State     Cynthia Nixon is part of a limited group of wealthy, chic people.  She will do well in Manhattan and parts of Brooklyn.

There’s a very different world north of New York City.  You won’t find Cynthia Nixon living in Buffalo, or Watertown.  I’ve met some hard people up there.  In much of Upstate New York, the economy has been declining for decades.  Go to South Buffalo, the childhood home of journalist Tim Russert.  Go to a town on the St. Lawrence River, opposite Canada.  There you will find another New York.  Not sure you will appeal to these people.  Let’s get closer to New York City.  

I grew up in Brooklyn Heights, but the neighborhood was not the chic place it is now.  I look more like the men you would see in front of a social club in Bensonhurst.  You and your friends would consider me a Bridge and Tunnel man.  I still have what people think of as a Brooklyn accent.  

    Can you appeal to what I consider the “Real New York?”  I mean the entire Empire State.  Oh, and if elected, you have to live in the Governor’s Mansion in Albany.  

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

