Newtown, Connecticut and Gun Control.


Philadelphia - Old City: Second Bank Portrait ...

Philadelphia – Old City: Second Bank Portrait Gallery – James Madison (Photo credit: wallyg)

I’m watching CNN and Piers Morgan is having his town hall meeting about gun control.

Number one, whatever is done, we now need a base of Federal Laws for the citizens to vote on.  A constitutional amendment may not be a bad idea.

When the Second Amendment was created, 90% of the population was rural and had muskets.  Assault rifles never occurred to anyone.

At the least, there should be a Federal background check for mental illness, maybe even a psychiatric exam and a felony check.

I’ve read some think if the principal and school psychologist had been armed, this might have been prevented.  Well, maybe.  Would they have been trained well enough in a crisis situation that’s hard enough for law enforcement?

Maybe we don’t have to ban assault weapons, but you can only have them under the following conditions:  You have to use them at an authorized range and you live your gun there.  A bit like the training of the Swiss Army.

Maybe there should be levels of training and constant re qualification.  Certain people would be really advanced.

May post more down the road.

 

About tucsonmike

I am originally from Brooklyn, New York and now live in Tucson, Arizona. I have discovered a passion for writing. I have five books out now, with a sixth on the way. Take a look @ my book list: The Search for Livingstone An Affair of the Heart The Search for Otzi Griffith Justice in Space. Moriarty The Life and Times of a Criminal Genius Available now on Smashwords - Amazon and Barnes and Noble As to not bore my public with just "Buy my book," I am also interested in baseball, the outdoors, art, architecture, technology, the human mind and DNA. I learned Ashkenazi Jews, of which I am one, have to lowest rate of Alzheimer's in the world. Therefore, I treat my brain as a muscle needing a workout. I enjoy good food, flirtation, beautiful women (I am happily married for thirty years), so just flirting ;) I was considered autistic when I was young, trying to figure out if I have a mild form of Aspergers and learning from that. That is for future posts. You can also see I love history. Enjoy my sarcastic silly look at the world, and making History more interesting than a textbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Newtown, Connecticut and Gun Control.

Leave a comment